Carpe Diem No More…

Carpe Diem No More…

Long to seize the day

Aching joints pain me, slow me

Long day seizes me

I can’t remember what it feels like to be able to jump out of bed full of the joys of spring and seize the day – nowadays it’s nearly always the day that seizes me!

I’m really struggling with painful, aching joints just now – it’s been an intermittent, yet ongoing problem for the last few years as my peri-menopausal hormones fluctuate and fall. And unfortunately they’re not going quietly – they’re screaming and protesting and giving me no end of grief along the way.

Recently I’ve gone from having an occasional bout of aching in one set of joints, which soon passes (bringing a period of welcome relief before the next bout begins somewhere else), to a constant debilitating ache in both hands, both elbows, both hips, and now my lower back – I’m starting to feel as if I’m grinding slowly but surely to a faltering halt.

I’m trying to stay positive, telling myself this is a normal part of the aging process and this too shall pass, but it really is getting me down the longer it goes on. I do my best to keep moving, keep pushing through it, but I guess my increasingly painful joints are telling me it’s probably time I went back to my GP for another set of blood tests to check my erratic hormone levels again…

Still, it’s prompted me to write a haiku about how it feels right now, so that’s somthing creative to come out of it all, isn’t it 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Carpe Diem No More…

  1. Wanted to see what the whole haiku would be like in Latin (courtesy of Google Translate)

    Carpe Diem nihil

    Diu ut capere illa

    In cor traiecto articulis me dolore, tardus me

    Dum me rapit die

    Like

Let me know what you think...

