O is for Open Space

Wanstead Flats is perhaps not the prettiest place I frequent in East London, but it brings a very welcome feeling of freedom in what can otherwise feel like a constantly cramped, closed-in, built-up environment. It is effectively one huge elongated open space divided into three parts, cut through by two busy roads – either end is partly marked up into football pitches (where the local kids practice and play every weekend during the season) and partly left reasonably rough, and the middle section is where the travelling fair (and sometimes the travelling circus) pitches up on high days and holidays 🙂

My theme for this year’s April A-Z Challenge is ‘My London A-Z’. I’ve found living in London to be very different from just visiting; in general I live a very ordinary life far removed from the craziness of the city itself, so I thought it might be fun to share my everyday experience with you all in images and words…

2 thoughts on “O is for Open Space

  1. aandj8804 April 18, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    I love taking pictures of big open spaces. I’ve never been to London, but between your images and those of friends, I now have a desire to go. It doesn’t look nearly as dreary and rainy as I’ve heard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth April 18, 2016 / 5:36 pm

      Like everywhere it has its bad spots and its good spots, but generally there is a little bit of everything here for everyone – it’s just a case of finding the things that suit you best and sticking with them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

