S is for Squirrel

squirrel

There are loads of grey squirrels everywhere in East London, scrambling up and down all the trees in streets and parks. And annoyingly we also have a squirrel that visits our roof space from time to time, scratching around above our heads and driving us to distraction… 🙂

My theme for this year’s April A-Z Challenge is ‘My London A-Z’. I’ve found living in London to be very different from just visiting; in general I live a very ordinary life far removed from the craziness of the city itself, so I thought it might be fun to share my everyday experience with you all in images and words…

7 thoughts on “S is for Squirrel

  1. joannesisco April 22, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    We have many squirrels in our neighbourhood too. They don’t annoy me nearly as much as the raccoons though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth April 22, 2016 / 7:25 pm

      No raccoons here in London – but raccoons ate pretty much all the orange crop from my father-in-law’s trees in Louisiana last year – he wasn’t best pleased! 🙂

      Like

  2. Meritings May 12, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    I love squirrels, and I love the way that Americans pronounce the word. It always makes me laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth May 12, 2016 / 10:17 pm

      My husband is actually American, and ‘squirrel’ is one word his family always get me to say every time we’re over visiting – with their long-drawn-out Deep South Louisiana drawl they say ‘squirl’ and my relatively clipped British pronunciation always cracks them up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meritings May 12, 2016 / 10:55 pm

        My wife and I both have a giggle every time we hear it on TV. Small things amuse small minds!

        Like

Let me know what you think...

