X is for Whipps Cross

After posting a pic of King’s Cross Station for ‘K’, I was kicking myself for not keeping it for ‘X’ as I remembered X is often a common shorthand for Cross, which is otherwise a really difficult letter to fit in to any A-Z challenge.

But following the same premise our local hospital is Whipps Cross University Hospital, and over recent years my husband and I have both (on occasion) visited variously the Accident & Emergency department, the Outpatients department, the Day-Case Unit (me) and the Inpatient wards (my husband).

The original red-brick buildings pictured here are sadly looking a bit worse for wear these days in the throes of extensive renovation, and the entire sprawling hospital site appears in much need to some TLC itself, but personally I’m glad it’s still there, still serving the local community as it has done over the last 100 years.

My theme for this year’s April A-Z Challenge is ‘My London A-Z’. I’ve found living in London to be very different from just visiting; in general I live a very ordinary life far removed from the craziness of the city itself, so I thought it might be fun to share my everyday experience with you all in images and words…

6 thoughts on “X is for Whipps Cross

  1. Lived in London for a while… but moved to Bristol, vibrant, happy, relaxed, not dirty, never regretted it. What I do regret is not seeing more of London while we were there, and love going back for visits. It’s a great city.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Was here on Thursday! One of my favourite things about whipps is the Kaffe Fassett quilt that’s framed in the main corridor. Most people just walk right past it.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

