Light at the End of the Tunnel

Tunnel

If anyone had asked me a couple of years ago what was the biggest obstacle to my creativity, I’d probably have said it was the lack of either time or money (I’ve spent much of my life being either time rich and money poor, or alternatively comparatively money rich and time poor), the lack of decent equipment (for my photography), or perhaps even the lack of an appropriately insprational environment (for my creative writing).

Yet slowly but surely I’m beginning to realise that the greatest obstacle to my creativity is, and always has been, me. I’m starting to see that I’ve spent a lifetime emotionally restricting myself by relying too heavily on the self-limiting words ‘always’ and ‘never’ to guide me, as if they were parallel walls forming the long narrow tunnel of my personal comfort zone, keeping me groping my way along in the dark, oblivious to my own blindness, unable and unwilling to deviate from their pre-destined path.

But now at last I can see light at the end of the tunnel, and as I’m learning to look beyond those restrictive walls that were effectively squeezing the life out of me, I’m finding it refreshingly liberating to finally feel free…

Discover Challenge: Obstacles

4 thoughts on “Light at the End of the Tunnel

Let me know what you think...

