Discover Challenge: Raison d’Etre

Hmmm… this week’s Discover Challenge is asking about our artistic raison d’etre… so as my blog is effectively my personal creative space, why do I blog?

I’ve been blogging on WordPress for just over two years now. My first blog Quietcalliope: The Ever-Hopeful Depressive was started anonymously not long after my fiftieth birthday with the main purpose of giving myself a voice after years of shameful silence – an attempt to try to explore and share in words my experience with recurring lifelong depression. I was delighted that anybody at all was interested in what I had to say, and felt my confidence grow. I soon added my first name to my ‘About’ page, and even felt brave enough to share a picture or two of myself.

Although initially I found the whole blogging experience to be refreshingly liberating, after a few months I felt my blog content to be moving too far away from my initial intention, and when my self-imposed remit started to hamper my potential posting I decided to leave Quietcalliope as it is and create a new blog, Mad Meandering Me: Going with the Flow of Life, taking a far more relaxed approach to my intended content. I posted regularly for the next year, working on building up my new blog following and joining in with several blog challenges set by others until I reached a point where the pace of real life moved up a notch for me and my ongoing committment to blogging began to get in the way, so I decided I needed to take a break and effectively re-prioritise my time.

Seven months passed before I logged on to WordPress again, and I knew immediately I needed to start all over again with a much simpler blog name that far more clearly indicated the content. Like Quietcalliope before her Mad Meandering Me had had her day, and so Image & Word: Life the way I see it was born. One month on, and I’m finding I’m really enjoying using my blog simply as my personal creative space – no more, no less. I still take part in various blog challenges when the mood takes me, and I’m loving catching up with everyone I missed while I was away. Seeing what everyone else posts whether photographs, creative writing, personal musings, or informative articles inspires me to be more creative myself.

It’s early days so far, and I don’t have a huge following with my new blog, but I really appreciate whatever interaction I do have with everyone in our lovely WordPress community. I find I’m far less concerned about stats these days and appreciate that the quality of my interaction with other bloggers matters far more to me that the quantity. I’m even hoping to attend this years Annual Bloggers Bash next month here in London – something I’m really looking forward to! 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “Discover Challenge: Raison d’Etre

    • And there are so many excellent blogs out there, it’s impossible to read them all – I guess everyone has to pick and choose one way or another who to check out regularly and who to let slide…

      Liked by 2 people

      • It helps if you only follow short posting blogs (ie poetry sites)… I’d love to follow more short story and flash fiction writers, but just don’t have the time to read them!

        Liked by 2 people

Let me know what you think...

