Daily Prompt: Underestimate

Three things about blogging I underestimated before I began to blog:

  1. How much time it takes to maintain just one little teensy-weensy personal blog. Whether it’s ‘I’ll just write a quick post…’ or ‘I’ll just see what’s new in my Reader…’ or ‘I wonder what new challenges have been posted…’ or even worse ‘I wonder who’s already responded to those challenges…’ I find that whatever my original intention when I start out I always spend way too long checking out other people’s stuff/ pondering over which specific words to write/ taking a crap load of photographs/ deciding which images out of that crap load I specifically want to include/ whether or not to even post something in the first place.
  2. How much enjoyment can be found in blogging, even when it can all too easily eat up so much of your day without you realising it – it’s surprisingly addictive! They say that time flies when you’re having fun, and blogging is definitely fun – it’s certainly become a favourite hobby of mine along with photography and writing, not only increasing my creative expression through my personal use of images and words, but also becoming an additional expression of my creativity in itself.
  3. What an amazingly supportive blogging community there is out there, and what a wonderful resource you all are for providing motivation and inspiration when I need it most. So a big thank you to everyone, from the bottom of my heart, for looking and reading and liking and commenting, and generally taking the time out of your day to help make my day a little bit better 🙂

Daily Prompt: Underestimate

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Underestimate

  1. Susan Body Renovations May 14, 2016 / 6:34 pm

    You are so right! I wish had even more time to allocate to reading all of the wonderful works that are out there. So many opportunities to connect and read what others are doing or inspiring me to do! Great post!

    Like

  2. Claudette May 15, 2016 / 12:28 am

    I’m with you – it takes ages, and f you miss a day of reading you’re toast!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

