Blogony Aunt

How great would it be to have a Blogony Aunt – you know, an Agony Aunt for Bloggers? I know there’s always the WordPress Community Pool and the helpful Courses on Blogging U, but that can feel quite scarily impersonal, especially when you’re not really sure what you’re doing anyway.

Sometimes you just want to ask a properly recognisable person for some one-to-one blogging advice without sounding any more stupid than you have to, considering you’re asking what might turn out to be a dumb question in the first place. Even if it’s just a pretend person – you know, a cleverly-created character that appears to be one person but is actually a whole team of experts beavering away in the background finding the answers on Google or whatever.

Thinking about my little blogging community, I’d maybe be happy enough to ask one or two people one or two particular questions maybe once or twice – but I’d worry about stretching the bond of blogging friendship by doing that too often. Having a Blogony Aunt to ask, on the other hand, would be the perfect solution – and it makes the potential asking and answering of stupid questions all the more fun! Of course, it could always be a Blogony Uncle, instead… any takers? No? I can always provide you with a plethora of dumb blog-related questions to get you started off… šŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Blogony Aunt

  1. Al Lane May 16, 2016 / 9:47 pm

    You can ask me anything, whenever, if it helps – I’ll let you know if it stretches any bonds! On the other hand, I am not that technical, so am not sure how helpful I’d be with it… šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ruth May 16, 2016 / 10:06 pm

      Actually it’s not so much the technical stuff I struggle with – it’s more the social points of blogging ettiquette I’m not always sure of or necessarily comfortable with. I’m not one of life’s natural joiners-in of things, even in the real world, so as blogging is all about sharing and communicating and virtual togetherness I can sometimes feel a bit out of my depth – but I keep on trying to push the boundaries of my comfort zone anyway! Thanks for the offer of advice Al, I might just take you upon that some day! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Al Lane May 16, 2016 / 10:09 pm

        Your comfort zone will expand as you interact… mine certainly has (I’m not a natural joiner-in in person by any stretch). But there are still things I choose not to share on here. It’s an individual thing, with no right or wrong šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudette May 17, 2016 / 8:51 am

    it can be difficult, can’t it! I forget, mostly, about the people who may be reading my blog – I always figure if they don’t like it they can choose not to read it. Have you googled Agony Aunt for Bloggers? There seems to be a plethora of them purporting to be so, didn’t check them out in any depth though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hugh's Views and News May 17, 2016 / 9:26 am

    Don’t be afraid to ask those questions, Ruth. There is so much support out there and many bloggers are only too happy to help. Right from the beginning I was told not to be afraid to ask. I took up the offers of support and learned so much, a lot of which I’ve even turned into blogging tips posts.

    Like

    • Ruth May 17, 2016 / 9:27 am

      Actually I’ve already read your blogging tips posts – very helpful thanks, Hugh! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hugh's Views and News May 17, 2016 / 9:31 am

        Thank you. Don’t be afraid to ask any other questions regardless of if they sound silly. šŸ˜€ I’ve asked many myself over the two years I’ve been blogging.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

