Sunday Signs

As a modern 21st Century society, we seem to have signs everywhere telling us what to do, what not to do, where to go, and generally informing us how to behave. There are signs telling us where we are; street names and business names, naming towns and cities and counties and states and sometimes even countries. We have traffic signs and warning signs, big signs, small signs, old signs, new signs, sensible signs, silly signs, fancy signs, boring signs, metal signs, wooden signs, signs in lights…

I quite like signs, and looking through my photography archive I seem to have built up a surprising little collection to date, so have decided to start a weekly series of posts showcasing everyday signs. I’ll maybe try to theme them accordingly so as not to be completely random – but then again, I might not, depending on how it goes.

I’ll start off today with a few signs prohibiting particular behaviours, and take it from there – I wonder how long it might take me to run out of images of signs to post?

If any of you out there want to join in with any sign pics of your own, please do feel free to add a link in the comments below, or just pingback if you’d rather! Looking forward to seeing if anyone else likes photographing signs too, or if it’s just weird old me out on a limb on my own after all… 🙂

Foot-tunnel-signNo-Parkingdo-not-feed-the-birds

20 thoughts on “Sunday Signs

      • I looked up this setting up a challenge thing, Ruth and it appears a challenge must be running three months before it gets official recognition. Would you be interested in pooling our resources to keep the signs coming. I’ve coined the phrase, Signs of the Time?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hmmm… I’m not really intending setting up a formal challenge as much as creating a series of posts for me to do and for anyone else to join in if they want – I’m quite happy to link my posts with your challenge although I’m not sure mine will necessarily fit in, as I’m intending looking at all types of signs, not just those that make me smile 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, you’ve read me wrong because, with a benign start or introduction, I now want to go into the ‘signs’ we put up for our ‘guidance’ etc. Any sign that, as you’ve observed, places new parameters on our behaviour. I’m going out, later this afternoon, to look for the work of a witty anarchist who has taken to adjusting street signs in Dublin, with amusing results. So, no, I’m not looking for the amusing signs, I’m looking for those that give us a sense of where we are and in what time, hence, Signs of the Time and not ‘sign of the times’, as I have, mistakenl;y posted, a couple of times.

        Like

      • Oops, sorry if I misunderstood – I think any post about signs is a great sign, so to speak! So maybe we should just wait and see how it all goes, for both of us 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m looking forward to following along and hopefully joining in some. I love signs. I was wishing I had my camera yesterday as we passed an area with “Speed Limit 60” sign on each side on the road. It is not common have 2 speed limit signs facing the same direction. One had come unbolted on the top and was hanging upside down, adding to an even more interesting combination.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah that’s the kind of thing that catches my eye too – most of my sign pics are taken on my phone while I’m out and about getting on with my day – then up pops a sign out of the blue, and I just have to photograph it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

