Happy 80th Birthday Dad!

me-and-dad

My Dad celebrates his 80th birthday today – this lovely old pic of the two of us was taken sometime in the mid-1960s ❤ I know at my age I’m really lucky to have both parents still alive, still living together in the house I grew up in that’s so full of family memories. And I truly do appreciate it, even if they still treat me like I’m a troublesome teenager from time to time – I think sometimes they forget that I’m a grandmother myself, with an adult life of my own that over the years has fallen far outside their realm of understanding.

Dad has always been very active throughout his life, and probably still does a lot more than many men of his age. On his last visit to his GP (for his auld mannie MOT, as he puts it) he was told it was probably time he stopped climbing on the roof to mend the guttering or whatever, and climbing trees to cut down errant branches. So Mum says the only difference now is that Dad waits until she’s gone out somewhere and can’t see what he’s up to (and so cause a fuss), and he still gets on and does it anyway! 🙂

16 thoughts on “Happy 80th Birthday Dad!

  1. Meritings May 18, 2016 / 2:00 pm

    A super Dad in so many ways! May your parents have many more happy, healthy years to share. Give them a big hug from me!

    Like

    • Ruth May 18, 2016 / 2:21 pm

      Thank you – going to visit them next week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dermott Hayes May 18, 2016 / 4:46 pm

    My father died last December, he was 93, so I know exactly what you’re saying. Make the most of your time together

    Like

    • Ruth May 18, 2016 / 5:55 pm

      Thanks Dermott – I read your post about your dad quoting Shakespeare – he sounds like a good man to have known xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dermott Hayes May 18, 2016 / 5:59 pm

        I wrote another, just now. Everyone’s relationship with their parents is different. I’m doing a couple of these Blog U courses and they send me daily prompts. Now, I hadn’t written about my father but one of the prompts was ‘regret’, so, I used that as a jump off point to say, goodbye

        Like

        • Ruth May 18, 2016 / 6:07 pm

          Lovely post, beautifully written 🙂

          Like

          • Dermott Hayes May 18, 2016 / 6:16 pm

            Thanks, Ruth, it’s probably a DNA thing that I learned to love him more by seeing him through the eyes of my daughters

            Like

          • Ruth May 18, 2016 / 6:25 pm

            Sometimes a little distance can make all the difference… a fresh perspective can work wonders 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Hugh's Views and News May 18, 2016 / 5:52 pm

    My dad is the same. He’s 83 and still loves doing the gardening and odd jobs. He hates that he’s not allowed to drive anymore, though.

    Like

    • Ruth May 18, 2016 / 5:56 pm

      Can’t begin to imagine what my parents will do when they can no longer drive… 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco May 19, 2016 / 3:35 am

    I like the sound of your dad … Feisty 🙂

    Happy birthday to him and best wishes for many more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth May 19, 2016 / 3:37 am

      Feisty is also a word that’s been applied to me more than once or twice! I guess that’s where I get it from 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • joannesisco May 19, 2016 / 11:56 am

        Feisty is certainly more interesting than being mousy and afraid to do anything 🙂

        Like

        • Ruth May 19, 2016 / 12:10 pm

          Ha ha ha – I guess so! 🙂

          Like

  5. Claudette May 19, 2016 / 8:24 am

    Lovely photo Ruth. Many happr returns to your Dad – may there be many more to come yet.

    Like

Let me know what you think...

