Weekly Photo Challenge: Jubilant

Trampolining

OK, so it’s not a new pic of me – it’s from the summer of 2011, just before my first granddaughter was born. Some of you may recognize it from my previous blog – I’m not usually keen on images of me but I must admit this is one of my favourites.

I was jumping on a large trampoline in my parents’ garden that had actually been put up for my grandson to play on – I took one look at it and just had to have a go too. I honestly don’t remember the last time I had so much fun, even though I could hardly move for days afterwards – but at that moment I felt like a kid again, jumping higher and higher as I grew in confidence, full of life and ready to take on the world…

My husband took loads of photographs of me jumping, most none too flattering – it’s not easy for an overweight middle-aged grandmother to look anything but ungainly on a trampoline – but for me this one image successfully captures exactly how I was feeling on that day – it’s the perfect memory ā¤

Weekly Photo Challenge: Jubilant

27 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Jubilant

    • Ruth May 20, 2016 / 6:57 pm

      It was such great fun – what a pity we forget, as adults, how to just play for the sheer hell of it! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • sustainabilitea May 20, 2016 / 6:59 pm

        I still love to swing when I get the chance and stand on the back of a grocery cart as I run it through the parking lot. šŸ™‚

        Like

        • Ruth May 20, 2016 / 7:30 pm

          OMG I love to swing too – if we ever have a garden again, I’m having an adult swing in it šŸ™‚

          Like

          • sustainabilitea May 20, 2016 / 7:33 pm

            When I was a child, we had a porch swing. Different range of motion but also lots of fun. But going to a playground and swinging is bliss.

            Like

          • Ruth May 20, 2016 / 7:35 pm

            My in-laws have a porch swing (they live in Louisiana) and I love swinging gently back and forth whenever we visit…

            Liked by 1 person

          • Ruth May 20, 2016 / 7:37 pm

            Always šŸ™‚

            Like

  1. Al Lane May 20, 2016 / 7:25 pm

    I’ve always loved that pic… Wonderful to hear the story behind it too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth May 20, 2016 / 7:33 pm

      Thanks, Al – the story behind it was always going to be me behaving like a big kid, one way or another!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thegirlthatdreamsawake May 20, 2016 / 7:56 pm

    SO MUCH FUN! thats what the picture shows šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura May 20, 2016 / 8:23 pm

    Wow, a trampoline sounds like great fun šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Judy Martin May 20, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    I do remember this photo from your previous blog, Ruth and I think it is brilliant. so carefree šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth May 20, 2016 / 10:09 pm

      Thanks Judy šŸ™‚

      Like

  5. enmanscamera May 21, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    I like that it is a nice sharp image that stops everything in mid air.

    Like

  6. stevetanham June 15, 2016 / 6:13 pm

    And perfectly named, “Jubiliant”. I used to do trampoline at school, on one of the full size ones – Immense excitement!

    Like

    • Ruth June 15, 2016 / 6:33 pm

      It’s great fun as a grown-up too – as long as you don’t have to move around much the following day šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. faithmillie June 16, 2016 / 9:45 pm

    I like playing with kids and behaving like a kid too. Skipping and reading story books meant kids are amongst my favourites

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pistachios September 2, 2016 / 1:36 am

    I cannot tell you how many times I had to re-read that first sentence: “…just before my first granddaughter was born”. It didn’t make sense because the person in the photo doesn’t look old enough to be a grandmother. I suppose jubilation does wonders for one’s appearance šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth September 2, 2016 / 9:51 am

      Thank you – I’m now 52 and have three grown-up children all in their 30s and five grandchildren ranging in ages from 14 years to 13 months šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

