Daily Prompt: Saga

Ah, the never-ending saga of finding a blog theme I’m comfortable with – sigh! It seems I’m never happy. My first blog was started with the quirky Matala Theme, but I soon found it too busy for my needs, almost overshadowing my rather sedate content, so I changed instead to Circa, where the soft muted colours and simple design more suited the… um… thoughtful tone of my now dormant blog…

My second blog started off dressed in the slightly jaunty Sorbet Theme, and after the briefest of failed flings with Misty Lake and a short-but-sweet love affair with the beautifully customisable Twenty Fifteen, I eventually returned shamefaced to Sorbet… but nevertheless that blog too now lies floundering, incomplete, hanging….

I started off this blog with such high hopes. But my initial choice of Tonal theme lasted less than a day – I was all too soon throwing it over for the more subtle Nucleare, a relationship which has lasted for seven weeks so far with only a couple of tweaks to the header image. But fickle as I am, I’m growing steadily unsatisfied with the all-too-bland ‘blah’ look of my blog, and I can tell my wandering eyes are already looking for a change, so this theme too may not last…

My plan is, as always, to find a free theme in a reasonably plain style, but one that’s not too boring, either. In the same way I change my clothes style along with my mood on any given day – hippy, sporty, classic, girl-next-door – I also need a blog theme that covers every eventuality. My problem (as ever) is that I seem to want two contradictory things at the same time. I want a banal blog theme that fades into the background allowing my content to shine (or at least look less dull than it really is) but I also want a sparkling blog theme that says – this is who I really am, see me shine…

So for now Nucleare remains the best of the bunch for me, but don’t be surprised if things change a little – and if you see me trying on a few different themes for size, for colour, for design, for fun, just smile and shake your head indulgently, knowing that the blog theme saga continues… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Saga

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Saga

  1. Sascha Darlington May 22, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    Love this! I spent a whole day last week (okay, it just SEEMED like the whole day) trying on new themes until I was basically confused and stuck with what I had. You may have inspired me to try again.

    Like

    • Ruth May 22, 2016 / 10:59 pm

      It’s equally fun, yet frustrating – if I wasn’t such a cheapskate I’d pay for my blog and my theme… but then I’d probably find it even harder to decide on a theme with so many more options to choose from! Happy theme-hunting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. purplepumpernickelblog May 23, 2016 / 1:16 am

    I love your post: you’ve captured the frenzy & saga-ness of the search for the perfect blog theme …. perfect for you, anyway!

    I spent quite a bit of time doing this myself: thoroughly enjoyed it until it got frustrating. Just when I thought I had found the One, then discovered missing features, etc etc.

    And as I read new blogs, I started to see themes I liked. So I restarted the process of test-driving new themes again. I have been using “Twenty Sixteen” for a while now – I am happy with it …. until I see something else I like better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth May 23, 2016 / 7:16 am

      That’s exactly my problem – the themes I like the look of visually don’t always have the features I want, and vice versa 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudette May 23, 2016 / 9:04 am

    It is difficult. I have had a smattering, but am currently happy with mine as I love the wide format for photos. I did tweak it a bit at the start though.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

