Daily Prompt: Struggle

I’m a sucker for soft toys, especially of the lost or unloved variety. I absolutely adored my favourite collection of soft toys as a kid – in particular I had a bear, a rabbit, and a lamb, all now floppy and worn and seriously discoloured, but still remembered fondly.

In my emotional world toys need to feel loved, and ever since seeing the sad, bitter end of the abandoned toys in Toy Story 3 (with 5 grandchildren I watch a lot of kids’ movies, a lot more than once!) I struggle with simply abandoning them to their fate and so have become a bit of a passer-on of lost/ unloved soft toys.

We’ve recently got a new manager in the pub where I work, and she’s been having a massive clear-out, including chucking out a box of promotional soft toys (mainly bears) collected one by one over the years that, once their particular promotions finished, simply stayed boxed up all jumbled together in the dark, sad and lonely, doing nothing but collecting dust.

Instead of binning them, I offered to take them home, brush them off, then pass them on to our local charity shop in the hope that someone, somewhere may love them a little. Sure enough, the box of soft toys has duly been dusted off and donated – minus this little bear, who for some reason I just didn’t have the heart to give away…

So she’s staying with me for the time being. No idea why I’m holding on to her, but it seems that at heart I’m just a soppy-hearted old fool who hasn’t quite grown up yet… ❀

Little-bearLittle-bear2

Daily Prompt: Struggle

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Struggle

  1. My middle kid, Kris, has dreams of having a special museum, book, exhibit, something for lost, abandoned, well-loved and unloved toys.

    And Toy Story 3 really tugged at my heart strings for many reasons- one being the poor toys that were no longer wanted or needed.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

