Discover Challenge: Analogue

Hmmm… Analogue or digital… well, it depends! And as much as anything, it depends on what is meant by the question – are we being absolutely literal in our interpretation of each term, or are we assuming it refers to a general distinction between mechanical and electronic gadgetry? Or can we take that analogy (which shares the same etymology as analogue) one step further using a bit of creative licence and take it to mean the difference between creating something hand-made and buying something ready-made?

Because I absolutely love hand-made and home-made stuff – I’ve always loved to cook, and over the years I’ve enjoyed sewing and have made several cross-stitch samplers, and I still love to crochet. To my mind there are so many old traditional skills that have been all too easily lost over only a couple of generations through a general over-reliance by some on pierce-and-ping ready-meals and fast food outlets, through never learning how to use a sewing needle and thread, or being at a loss as to how to create one piece of solid fabric from a ball of yarn and either one hook or two large needles.

Making something by hand makes it unique and highly personal, makes it special, whatever it is. Don’t get me wrong, I do quite happily use microwave meals and packet foods when I need to, and I certainly buy rather than make all my own clothes (although I can alter them and adapt them as necessary), but I do know how to cook from scratch and sew clothing from a paper pattern and crochet just for fun, and I still enjoy practising those important skills on a regular basis.

So here’s the latest crochet blanket in my collection, in the process of being made – I used up all the random bits and pieces of yarn I had lying around to make an irregular-striped multi-coloured bobble-stitch blanket for our bed 🙂

crochet-in-progresscrochet-blanket

Discover Challenge: Analogue

7 thoughts on “Discover Challenge: Analogue

    • My knitting skills are pretty basic – stocking stitch and garter stitch is as far as I got when manipulating two needles, I’m just much happier with a crochet hook 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My mum was a fantastic knitter, but she couldn’t crochet. I can just about knit, but not follow a pattern. I work with birthing women and it is a lovely thing to do at a birth. Just this month I finally learned to crochet! You Tube. I needed to see it in action!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I learned from a friend’s grandmother years ago. I just unearthed my materials in my beginning of the year cleaning frenzy so I’m planning on starting up again. I like to latchhook too!!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

