Daily Prompt: Guest

My depression sits on the periphery of my vision; dull and opaque like a sulky ghost. We’ve been shackled together for so long now within the shadows of my mind I have no idea what it’s like not to have its watchful eyes on me, always waiting for me to falter so it can swoop in and sweep me up once more in its suffocating embrace. It has always been an unwelcome guest, but as the years pass and it still shows no signs of moving on, I’ve simply got used to living with the natural ebb and flow of its recurring darkness…

Daily Prompt: Guest

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Guest

  1. Sascha Darlington July 13, 2016 / 2:01 am

    Sorry if this comment is unwelcome, but I lost my beloved sister-in-law to depression in March. Please seek help if things seem bad. If I can ever help, please let me know. There’s never harm in reaching out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth July 13, 2016 / 8:38 am

      Thank you for your kind comment, but I’ve lived with recurring depression for a lifetime (I’m now in my fifties) and have been down the route of medication and therapy on so many occasions – but I’m now at a point in my life where being at peace with my ongoing reality is enough. So sorry to hear about your sister-in-law, and thank you again for caring enough to comment…

      Like

Let me know what you think...

