Limerick Challenge: Antonyms

The hot and heavy night-time adventures of a long-suffering sleep-deprived middle-aged menopausal woman 🙂

Hot…

Night sweats cover my skin head to toe

Damp sheets cast off above and below

Yet another hot flush

Drenches me in a rush

Leaves me both hot and cold in one go

 

Heavy…

I wake early but go to sleep late

Not my choice but my hormonal fate

Such insomnia plays

Havoc with nights and days

Deep exhaustion my permanent state

 

Limerick Challenge: Antonyms

 

 

19 thoughts on “Limerick Challenge: Antonyms

  1. Al Lane July 23, 2016 / 6:31 pm

    Great limericks… Sorry about the story behind them though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth July 23, 2016 / 6:33 pm

      Story of my life right now – especially with all this hot and humid weather we’ve been having 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzanne Gunter McClendon July 23, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    This is my story, too! Hopefully, we all get past this part of life very soon. I hear there’s hope that it gets better. We just have to tough our way through it for now. Have a blessed day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth July 24, 2016 / 6:37 am

      Ha ha ha – a man who knows never to risk upsetting a hormonally-challenged woman 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meritings July 27, 2016 / 10:21 pm

        Angie Garton is my niece and will give free (initial) advice by phone or Skype.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Indira July 29, 2016 / 6:18 am

    Both are superb. Being an insomniac I can understand second one better though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MindandLifeMatters August 2, 2016 / 5:54 am

    Amazing limericks, both of them! Sorry about the reason behind them though…insomnia is such a pain!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

