Daily Prompt: Fifty

Five Firsts Since Fifty:

Beginning Blogging – I first started blogging a couple of months past my fiftieth birthday, and after a couple of false starts I think I’m finally where I want to be with it!

Writing Structured Poetry – Through blogging I’ve discovered the satisfaction of writing poetry within the strict structural frameworks of Haiku, Tanka, Limericks and Sonnets, and am extremely thankful for that.

Pulling a Pint – I’ve done lots of different jobs over the years while bringing up my family, but I’d never worked in a pub or pulled a pint before turning 50. I’m not sure for how much longer I’ll carry on working in a pub, but for now it’s a job, and it’ll do for the time being.

Singing Karaoke – I lost my Karaoke virginity at my friend Sue’s 50th birthday party with a bunch of girls from work – we all got up together and sang Sister Sledge ‘We are fam-i-lee… I got all my sisters with meee…!’ and it really was great fun.

Eating a Doner Kebab – Hmmm… this is one first I may well not be repeating any time soon! But at least I’ve tried one now… all I can say is I can see why it’s a favourite fast food option for many after a few drinks – but in my book you’d need to be drunk to enjoy it 🙂

Daily Prompt: Fifty

 

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fifty

  1. Dan Antion August 22, 2016 / 10:53 pm

    It’s hard for me not to think of thd 1979 Pittsburgh Pirates. They won the World Series, having had that song and “we ar family” as their theme all season. Good to see you stepping out after the 5-0

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joannesisco August 23, 2016 / 2:03 am

    Keep up with the firsts! I’m sure there are many more ahead of you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

