Daily Prompt: Dilemma

Today’s dilemma for me is a common one after any time away from my blog for whatever reason – on this occasion ten days spent in Scotland with my family – how best do I deal with the question of catching up with everything I’ve missed?

Do I (a) try to go back and read absolutely everything in my reader that I’ve missed while I was away, (b) firmly forget about everything I’ve missed and start picking up from today only, or (c) decide to do a bit of both.

Today I’m necessarily being a bit picky and choosy – I’ve got some time to relax and blog, but I’ve also got a lot to do that requires me not sitting on the sofa with my laptop, so I’m being somewhat selective about what I’m catching up on. Many apologies to anyone I’m following who I’ve not got round to catching up with yet.

Of course, regardless of how well (or how badly) I succeed in catching up with everyone else’s blog posts, I’ll always go back through my own notifications, especially with regards to comments made on any of my previous posts – after all, if somoene’s taken the time to leave me a comment then it’s only polite to acknowledge it, even if only with a like or a thanks.

So how do you all cope with catching up on blogging after a few days away? 🙂

Daily Prompt: Dilemma

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Dilemma

    • Ruth September 26, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  1. Dan Antion September 26, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    Welcome back Ruth. Give yourself a little vacation benefit and don’t go nuts catching up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. granonine September 26, 2016 / 5:23 pm

    I can’t go back and read it all. There just isn’t time. I pick up on the day I get back, with apologies to anyone who may have left a comment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth September 26, 2016 / 5:26 pm

      There’s just such a lot of content out there, that’s a good idea 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • granonine September 26, 2016 / 5:27 pm

        It has been so much fun to discover all the talented people out there!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hugh's Views and News September 27, 2016 / 4:58 pm

    Nobody has the time to read all the blogs they follow, not even when they are not on holiday, Ruth.
    As for trying to get to the top of the WordPress Reader list; I finished trying to do that about a year ago and feel much better for making that choice. Read what you can when you can. Blogging is all about the fun and enjoyment. Never make it a task.

    Hope you had a great break?

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

