Share Your World: 2016 – 39

A class you wish you’d have taken?

History – when I was at school I wasn’t in the least bit interested in learning about the past, I was far more concerned with worrying about the future. But now I realise that the past always influences the future, one way or another…

What’s your favourite comic figure and why?

Oor Wullie – you’d have to be Scottish to get this one, but Oor Wullie was a comic strip character who appeared every week in the Sunday Post newspaper in Scotland, a boy wearing dungarees and tackety boots who was always sitting on his up-turned bucket. He was a regular part of my childhood, and I think I’ll always have a soft spot for him. He was always joined by The Broons, another comic strip cartoon that appeared weekly, and it was a common Christmas gift way back when to receive both an Oor Wullie annual and a Broons annual every year πŸ™‚

Name something you wish you could like?

Lettuce – I hate it, and as it’s the most common ingredient in salads I tend to turn down salad any time we’re eating out, much to everyone else’s disdain. It’s a great inconvenience to me not to like it, but there we go… I guess there’s no accounting for taste. And for everyone who tells me it tastes of nothing, I can tell you it most definitely tastes of lettuce, which I absolutely hate!

Tell me about your first crush/ forst date/ first kiss?

My first kiss with my husband was upstairs in the playroom in his family home – I think I was 14 and he was 16. It was a nice enough kiss, but it still took us another twenty-odd years of being just good friends to actually get together as a couple…

Who was your best friend when you were 10?

Probably Anne, who has been my friend the longest – our dads went to school together and we were neighbours as children, so our families spent a lot of time together. Anne is six months younger than me, so we’ve been friends for 52 years – OMG that makes me feel old…

What sign are you? Do you believe in astrology?

Sagittarius according to Western astrology, and I was born under the sign of the Rabbit or Hare in the Chinese horoscope. And I neither believe nor disbelieve in astrology any more or less than any other belief system out there… πŸ™‚

Share your world

6 thoughts on “Share Your World: 2016 – 39

  1. Cee Neuner September 26, 2016 / 7:16 pm

    I hate it when things I say (or write) make me feel old. I really understand that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nonsmokingladybug September 26, 2016 / 9:07 pm

    “And I neither believe nor disbelieve in astrology any more or less than any other belief system out there…”that’s my favorite sentence πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joey September 27, 2016 / 12:55 am

    I like your take on astrology, very well-worded.
    It’s funny you don’t like lettuce, in that I think you may be the first person to bring that to my attention. I suppose that WOULD be inconvenient.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth September 27, 2016 / 9:00 am

      I do keep trying to like it, but keep failing miserably πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. prior.. September 27, 2016 / 7:04 am

    wow – you have been with your hubs a long time – congrats – and yeah to the history – πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

