Daily Prompt: Test

The most exciting test I’ve ever taken in my life was 34 years ago, and it was my first ever pregnancy test. Home pregnancy tests were still relatively new then, done in an actual test tube suspended in a perspex stand with a little square mirror placed at a 45 degree angle underneath in which to view the result at the given time. None of today’s peeing straight onto a stick almost as soon as you want and reading ‘pregnant’ or ‘not pregnant’ in the result window.

You had to wait for at least two weeks past the due date of your period before the test would work effectively. It was important to collect an early-morning urine sample (as this potentially held the highest levels of pregnancy hormone) in a sterile container and carefully dropper three drops precisely (or something like that) into the pre-prepared test tube. You then waited exactly three minutes (as far as I can remember) and looked in the mirror underneath (without disturbing the test tube itself) to interpret the result.

If you didn’t see anything after the allotted time, you either weren’t pregnant or had done the test too soon. But you also had to be careful not to leave the test too long before viewing the result, as it might give a false positive result. However, if you were pregnant a small ring would form within no more than three minutes as a brown precipitate settled in the bottom of the test tube – and I remember even now the stunned amazement I felt when I saw the tiny particles slowly begin to form that ring, long before the time was up.

That little brown ‘O’ of astonishment in the bottom of a slim test tube 34 years ago let me know I was actually growing a new life inside me for the first time, and without hesitation it was the first thing I thought of (still with the same smug smile of satisfaction) as soon as I saw today’s Daily Prompt: TestĀ  šŸ™‚ ā¤

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Test

  1. settleinelpaso September 30, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    A very well written description of one of the most important tests! šŸ™‚ Thank you for this nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

