Daily Prompt: Careful

I’m usually quite careful of what I write on social media, whether on WordPress or FaceBook. I try to keep reasonably clear of contentious topics like religion and politics, although in the current climate it’s getting harder to avoid feeling like having a rant about… well… pretty much everything religious and political!

My careful reticence tends to make for very bland, dull, anodyne posts that sometimes leave me feeling a bit ‘meh’… It’s not that I don’t have opinions, it’s more that over the years as a people-pleaser I’ve grown up knowing to keep my opinions to myself rather than invite possible rejection by causing potential  offence to others. And as I object to being force-fed people’s opinions, I try hard not to do the same to others.

However, sometimes I think I play it too safe, stay too silent, but it’s hard not to be wary. I’m British, with a European passport, and although I currently live in England, in my heart I’m Scottish first and foremost. My husband is American by birth, but has held British Citizenship for the last 21 years. So we necessarily share a direct interest in UK politics, European politics, Scottish politics, and US politics. And between us we have a lot of family to upset on both sides of the ocean by disagreeing with their decidedly varied views.

We held the Scottish Independence Referendum in September 2014, which may have ended in Scotland remaining part of the United Kingdom but was a close-run contest, with feelings running high on both sides. We held a UK General Election in May 2015, then held the Referendum on the UK remaining in the European Union in June 2016. The resulting BREXIT vote was another close-run contest with feelings running high, and the aftershocks of that vote are still rumbling on…

And then of course there’s the US Presidential Election coming up in November 2016, a topical moving target ripe for ranting over by everyone else regardless of political preference, as both my FaceBook newsfeed and WordPress Reader can attest to. However for once I find myself absolutely lost for words – instead of having to carefully watch what I say, I’m stunned into shocked silence at the sheer stupidity of the whole silly scenario. And in the interests of international diplomacy, I think that’s probably all I care to say about that… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Careful

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Careful

  1. Tessa Saks October 9, 2016 / 7:42 pm

    Awesome statement: “However for once I find myself absolutely lost for words – instead of having to carefully watch what I say, I’m stunned into shocked silence at the sheer stupidity of the whole silly scenario. And in the interests of international diplomacy, I think that’s probably all I care to say about that…
    I really enjoyed your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Holly October 10, 2016 / 3:21 pm

    No worries, I live here in the US and I don’t have the right words for any of this anymore either. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth October 10, 2016 / 3:33 pm

      You can always create an alternative reality in Lego figures – Pigpool for President! 🙂

      Like

Let me know what you think...

