Losing My Way

Losing my Way…

I think I need to change the way I blog

It seems I’m losing focus week by week

Through metaphoric mud and word-bound fog

I’m wading day by day through landscape bleak

Life’s full of stress right now and things feel tough

Can’t see much further than each challenge set

My clarity of purpose not enough

To keep new blog posts flourishing – and yet

I’m hoping that by altering my view

My motivation finds another way

Ensures my blog, revitalised anew

Lives on in hope to post another day

Creatively I’m longing to break free

Of old constraints that choke and challenge me…

I’m really not in a very good place in life right now, but I’m doing my best not to lose sight of finding little spots of happiness wherever I can. And maintaining my blog does bring me happiness. I really do enjoy blogging, but somehow I feel I’ve got myself stuck in a bit of a deep dark rut with it all. So recently I’ve simply been trying my best to keep up with all the challenges I usually enjoy participating in, just to keep posting something rather than nothing, but even that’s not feeling enough any more.

But then, I suppose I’m feeling stuck in a rut with a lot of things at the moment, miserably slogging along as best I can, so really my blogging experience is simply reflecting my current life experience for now. Much as I wanted to keep this blog as a purely positive creative space, I have to appreciate that creativity in whatever form is a good thing, so perhaps instead of always having to find some forced positivity to present on my blog I simply need to take things as they come and let the feelings flow onto the page however they may manifest themselves?

I’m passionate about photography, and I love writing poetry, and at its core that’s what this blog is supposed to provide for me – a creative outlet for sharing my images and my words, whether positive or negative in tone. I think I need to find that simple point of focus again, maybe work on being a little more balanced in the content of my posts for a while, and see if that helps me find my way clear again…

And in the meantime, thanks for sticking by me, I always appreciate the company, especially through the darkest days when the tiniest pinprick of potential light at the end of the tunnel seems such a long, long way ahead 🙂

8 thoughts on “Losing My Way

  1. Oh Ruth, I can really empathise with you. I think I know where you are coming from, having been there recently myself.
    I hope that things improve for you soon. In the meantime, it is lovely keeping you company 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve kind of drawn away from blogging like a use to. Still try to do one post a week, but the passion has faded. Life gets too hectic sometimes. I’m taking a water coloring course which takes up a lot of my extra time. Hope you find your way, Ruth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i hope things get better for you Ruth, it is hard to be in that place where the light rarely shines brightly, or for very long.
    In regards to your blog, I would advocate to let it be unforced, perhaps stop doing so many challenges if they are not making you happy. I have always just gone with the ebb and flow of how I am feeling on my blog, because to me the point of it is to make ME happy, and sometimes expressing my unhappiness in whatever form i choose helps.
    Perhaps this is not what you wish to blog about, but I know being true to where I am, who I am, and expressing that through my blog makes life better for me.
    I hope whatever course you choose, you continue to find happiness by doing it.
    Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

