Daily Prompt: Ancient

1866-penny

OK, so it’s not exactly ancient, but it’s definitely the oldest thing in the house – in fact, it’s even older than the building we live in (by about 20 years or so)! I’ve had a few old pennies kicking around for years, including two Victorian specimens, one from 1899 with an elderly Queen’s head on the back, and the second from 1866, with the faintest outline of a much younger Queen Victoria on the back.

The older coin is so worn down after 150 years it’s impossible to make out even the outline of the figure of Britannia on the front, although thankfully the date along the bottom is still just visible – and sadly I don’t have a macro setting on my camera, so this highly cropped shot is the clearest I could get it. Not a very exciting image, I know, but a real piece of British history nonetheless 🙂

Daily Prompt: Ancient

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Ancient

  1. Joanne Sisco October 22, 2016 / 12:58 am

    I don’t know … if I had a coin in my hand with a date of 1866, I’d be pretty excited 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy Martin October 22, 2016 / 5:02 pm

    It looks pretty ancient to me and I think it is great to have an old penny like that! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

