Technologically Indecisive…

I’m not very good at decision-making when it comes to choosing technological stuff. I’d like to think it’s only because of the psychological paradox of choice, where the more options we have to choose from, the less able we are to make a reasonable decision on something – information overload in the extreme. But I have to admit that even where my choice is between only two options, I still struggle with deciding on which particular priority to, um, well… prioritise.

My current dilemma is which smartphone to buy. In some ways I’m not a great smartphone user – everyone told me once I got a smartphone I’d never be off it, but I’ve not found that to be the case so far. I mean, I occasionally phone, I text a bit, I take a few pics, and I do sometimes check FaceBook and WordPress with it, but I don’t ever listen to music or play games or surf the net or even do email. And I certainly don’t use it enough to warrant spending (wasting?) a lot of money on it every month.

But my daughter has suggested that’s maybe because I have a relatively old smartphone (which has long ago run out of firmware updates so is slow and increasingly temperamental to use) with a relatively small screen (and my eyesight is increasingly failing) and so I’ve never actually used it to its full capacity. She may well be right, as I can sometimes be a bit of a stubborn old dinosaur with things like that.

It offends my sensibilities to have almost immediate obsolescence built in to things, and yet with today’s technological advancement it’s an absolute given, so I guess I simply have to accept it as unavoidable and learn to live with it – sigh! Anyway, my initial dilemma was deciding on whether to stick with plain and simple and just replace what I have with an updated equivalent, or go up-market and get something fancy.

I’ve got as far as deciding to stick with updated plain and simple, but am now trying to decide between handsets – I know I want a decent-ish camera in it, but also decent storage (either built in or additional – or ideally, both) but also a good battery life (because I hate always having to have my phone constantly on charge) BUT I also don’t want anything too expensive… which is where I struggle with prioritising, because there’s always something on my list that has to give.

My current indecision is driving me nuts, and I seriously need to decide on something soon. My old phone may be slowly giving up the ghost, but I really don’t want to find myself forever haunted by making the wrong choice… Aaarrrggghhh…! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Technologically Indecisive…

  1. Margarita October 28, 2016 / 6:47 pm

    I sympathize! I recently had to upgrade my phone for reasons similar to yours. Only my old phone wasn’t a “smart” phone. Just a phone that I could text comfortably, take decent pictures, and had flexible storage. Since upgrading phones is no longer “free”, I elected to purchase a used/refurbished phone (I used eBay). I got an upgraded model at a reasonable price that will serve me well for several years. Yay! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claudette October 30, 2016 / 6:36 am

    Always difficult. I upgrade a few months ago, and have been very happy with my new phone (apart from one very minor thing). It took me ages to decide though, so appreciate where you are at.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

