Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Industrial Buildings

mcdermotts-3mcdermotts-2mcdermotts-4mcdermotts-1mcdermotts-5

The site of the original J Ray McDermott oil fabrication yard in Morgan City, Louisiana, sadly no longer in use for the construction of offshore oil rigs but not yet completely abandoned by the company.

It was really good for me to see the original place where it all began, as it was his job with McDermotts (first in Morgan City and then in Inverness) that initially took my father-in-law across the ocean from Louisiana to the North of Scotland in early 1973 with his family in tow.

As I was growing up my dad also worked for McDermotts Scotland, as did my mum for a while, and even my brother at one point – the fabrication yard in Inveness was a big employer in the area at the time, although it’s long gone now with the slow and steady decline of the oil industry in the North Sea.

I took these few shots of the remaining Morgan City buildings in 2013, while visiting Louisiana with my husband 40 years after we first met in Scotland. Although I’d never been there before myself, it was easy enough for me to imagine the massive construction sheds and giant cranes and equipment that would have been needed.

Perhaps not very exciting industrial buildings to share, but meaningful to us for sentimental reasons because of our history together 🙂

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Industrial Buildings

2 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Industrial Buildings

  1. Cee Neuner November 2, 2016 / 5:50 pm

    Terrific photos of an industrial building and site. Thanks for playing.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

