Daily Prompt: Sincere

Sincerity can be an odd one – I work in a bar, and as part of my job I’m required to be polite and chatty and friendly to all customers on a daily basis. With some regulars and visitors it’s easy – but with others not so much. So when I have to smile and pass the time of day with a few un-funny high-spirited alcohol-lubricated loudmouths when I actually feel like telling them to get lost, am I being insincere in the sense of being dishonest in my conversation?

And when I smile and tell customers that their particularly irritating request is no problem to sort out when actually it’s a complete pain in the ass to have to fix, and then I freely bitch about it afterwards to colleagues, am I being insincere in my initial response?  Or does my face-value ‘false’ behaviour, coming from a place of either not wanting to hurt my customers’ feelings or from a place of doing my job well, actually count as a kind of sincerity?

Daily Prompt: Sincere

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sincere

  1. harryalston November 3, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    I’m a waiter, I understand this fully. One thing, for me at least in the hospitality profession, is the more sincere you are the more likely they are to leave a tip. It doesn’t matter how sincere you are actually being, but simply how well you can act. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

