Cold Comfort

Cold Comfort…

Though this damned cold sends shivers through my skull

I don’t feel ill enough to stay in bed

So while I feel impaired, my senses dull

I’m wrapped up on the sofa, warm, instead

Platoons of germs advance with pounding feet

Invade my body bringing misery

March through my aching bones with rhythmic beat

An occupying army I can’t see

My fevered brow is burning up like fire

The mucous in my nose impedes my rest

My throat constrained by swallowed razor wire

Breaths catching sharp like frost in heaving chest

Through streaming eyes and sneezing fit to burst

No hope but let this damned cold do its worst… 😦

 

 

One thought on “Cold Comfort

  1. Margarita November 13, 2016 / 9:55 pm

    Oh, dear…hope you’re feeling better, Ruth. Holding you in Love and Light! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

