Discover Challenge: Mind The Gap

dark-and-light

I frequently hold a clear vision in my mind’s eye of the kind of photograph I want to create, but sadly there is often a huge gap between what I hope for and what I actually achieve. I know the problem is not in the technical ability of my camera equipment (or lack thereof) but in my own inability to think like a camera sensor and lens rather than like a human brain and an eye.

When all I want to do is faithfully reproduce a scene exactly as seen through the lens, then all I have to do is compose, focus and shoot, et voila, the camera and I are in complete unison – what we see is what we get. But when the effect I want to achieve is more artistic than scientific – when I’m actively making rather than reactively taking a photograph, that’s when I truly struggle…

If I was drawing or painting a particular scene, I could say to myself – hmmm, OK, I need this part to be a bit faded and blurry, and this part to stand out in sharp focus – and I could simply create the magic with my brush, layer by layer until I was happy with the end result. But in making a photograph I first have to understand just how the camera sees the scene, so I can tell it what to adjust to create the image the way I want it to be seen.

I also have to learn the limitations of such adjustments – what can and cannot be done in camera at one time. And then following on from understanding my camera better I also need to learn how to use image processing software to achieve the digital darkroom stuff – how to alter the image afterwards in order to enhance my creative licence?

Altogether I still have such a long way to go to get my exposure compensation right in high contrast situations (such as in the image above) to capture just the right moody lighting to ensure the image says exactly what I want it to say, to reduce that frustratingly cavernous gap between internal vision and external view, but I’ll keep on trying, and hopefully one day I’ll get there…

Discover Challenge: Mind The Gap

6 thoughts on “Discover Challenge: Mind The Gap

  1. Dan Antion November 28, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    I struggle with photos like this. This looks pretty good, however you managed to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth November 29, 2016 / 11:27 am

      Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  2. Joanne Sisco November 29, 2016 / 12:06 pm

    You expressed what I’ve been struggling with ever since I picked up a camera … Why doesn’t it give me back what I’m seeing?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shruti502 December 1, 2016 / 9:31 am

    All the very best for your learning experience.I am sure you will have that perfect picture soon as you are aware of your shortcomings.I enjoyed your prompt response,it has been beautifully written!The picture above is splendid!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

