Daily Prompt: Faded

Today I found an old receipt from five years ago, squirreled away in a box of bits and pieces, keeping it safe for posterity. On the surface it looks like any other everyday receipt, its now-faded print listing a few general non-descript food items bought at our local supermarket, but it also holds a very special memory for me. Across it is scribbled a time, a weight, a length, and a name – it was the first thing that came to hand for me to write on the morning my youngest daughter called me from their local hospital maternity ward, happy and exhausted, to tell me she had become a mummy for the first time…

Daily Prompt: Faded

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Faded

  1. Margarita November 30, 2016 / 7:46 pm

    Ahhh… the memory seems fresh and bright as ever, Ruth! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

