Stream of Consciousness Saturday: First/ Last

First day of the new year, and here I sit with lank, greasy hair wondering exactly what the hell I’ve let myself in for… I decided last week I’m going to try to have completely natural hair from now on, using nothing but water to keep it clean. Inevitably, after a lifetime of using shampoo, it’s going to take my scalp some decent length of time to rebalance itself when it comes to necessary oil production, and until that transitional phase passes I have little option but to bear with whatever excessive greasy mess accumulates in the meantime…

My dark blonde hair and I have always had an uneasy relationship, it’s always (well, since my early teens) been greasy at the roots but dry and frizzy at the ends, but over the last few years it’s become increasingly unmanageable. As more and more grey hairs appear in the mix, the texture has changed too, and I’m growing more and more fed up with the way it looks and feels, even when newly washed. And apart from during times of illness or unavoidable necessity, I’ve pretty much washed my hair every day – or two at a push – since puberty…

Forty years of daily washing has clearly taken its toll – the thing is, I’ve naturally got really dry skin, so there’s no reason to think the skin on my scalp, if left to its own devices, would be any different from everywhere else on my body. But of course, it’s not ever been left to its own devices. It seems reasonable to assume that counter-intuitively it is in fact my daily chemical stripping of all those healthy, natural hair oils that is in part creating the excessive oiliness that has kept me washing my hair every day until now…

I’ve done my research on-line, and am following a tried-and-tested routine of water-only washing hair-care, but as everyone’s hair is different it’s hard to guess how long it might take to get to the point where I can feel happy with my oh-so-slow progress to date. It seems to be a bit of a how-long-is-a-piece-of-string process, dependent on so many different variables – hair type, skin type, usual frequency of washing, practical circumstances, personal preferences…

Right now I have no idea how this little experiment will turn out – I absolutely hate the way my hair feels at the moment, and hate the way it looks. But I feel sure that, with a little patience and perseverance (not to mention the wearing of a hat every time I leave the house for the next week) I can start to see and feel a difference in the condition of my long-abused scalp and hair, and one day soon maybe even find myself with a head of healthy, shiny hair at last… πŸ™‚

Stream of Consciousness Saturday: First/Β  LastΒ 

16 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday: First/ Last

    • Ruth January 1, 2017 / 3:18 pm

      Thanks Ritu – I feel I may need all the luck I can get! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. brenda January 1, 2017 / 1:43 pm

    Is this perspective of water only care new? A few days ago I came across an article about water bathing and now your article.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 1, 2017 / 3:10 pm

      It does seem to be a growing reaction to our extreme reliance on chemicals to over-clean everything in sight these days! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat January 1, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    Good luck!!! I really can’t stand how my hair/head/scalp feel when I don’t wash my hair so I give you a lot of credit! (I’m sitting here right now mentally struggling with the need to shower and the desire to read blog posts…) Since my hair is colored, I shudder to think of the damage but that gray hair is definitely messing with it even more! I’ll be interested to see how this works for you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 1, 2017 / 3:15 pm

      I stopped colouring my hair years ago, so am allowing the grey to do its stuff naturally – my friend calls them my silvery highlights – and I’ve no idea how I’ll get on long-term with the water-only washing, but I’m desperate to try something different. I’ll update on my progress as and when I have anything to report other than how much I hate having greasy hair!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kat January 3, 2017 / 7:37 pm

        I’m afraid of the gray. I admit it. lol I know some people have this gorgeous silver color that their hair just seems to magically change over to but not me- I’ll have this awful stringy gray, reddish brown mess that looks like a nightmare. lol . I’ll be interested to hear how your progress is with this. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Margarita January 1, 2017 / 2:27 pm

    Don’t forget to brush your hair well, Ruth, to help release the accumulations on the tresses while stimulating the scalp to healthier function. This, too, shall pass… πŸ˜‰ xoM

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 1, 2017 / 3:16 pm

      Boar-bristle brush at the ready… very weird! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion January 1, 2017 / 3:25 pm

    Good luck with that (says the man with so little hair he can brush with a towel).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 1, 2017 / 6:22 pm

      My husband has lost most of his hair – thinned on top to the point of no return – so these days he most definitely wears it departed in the middle! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

