Discover Challenge: Superpower

My personal superpower may not be very exciting, but it’s proved to be pretty useful over the years. I’m well known within my family for being a wizard at being able to create a meal out of nothing. It’s never really ‘nothing’, of course, I just seem to have a flair for finding enough store-cupboard/ refrigerator/ freezer ingredients hiding out of sight (and therefore out of mind for many) to make something edible out of whatever bits and pieces are already there, lurking around, waiting to be found.

My own kitchen larder is always stocked with all the basics I might need, so it’s hardly surprising I can usually conjure up some creative concoction or other at home – but I can often do it in other people’s kitchens, too. The thing is, I simply love cooking, so because I know enough about how even the most simplest of things are made at source, and have a basic understanding of which ingredients tend to go together best in which particular ratios, I’m not afraid to experiment and have fun.

So it’s not really a superpower as such, it’s more of an intuitive knack for trusting in a lifetime of trial and error, of having played about with food combinations enough over the years to feel confident in putting myself out there, knowing that you win some and you lose some, but ultimately it’s all part of the never-ending learning curve of life…

Today, for example, I decided out of the blue to make an apple crumble for dessert, and maybe some custard to go with it. But I know my husband really loves chocolate, so I thought I’d maybe add some cocoa powder to the custard powder and make chocolate custard rather than vanilla. And then I thought – hmmm… maybe I could add cocoa powder and a few chocolate chips to the crumble mixture too, and make a chocolate fruit crumble. But apple and chocolate doesn’t sound good, so maybe I’ll use pear instead, we have some pears sitting in the fruit bowl…

Et voila – chocolate and pear crumble with chocolate custard all done and dusted as if by magic, yet all made with basic ingredients I had in the kitchen already – and by the way it was yum, I’ll definitely be making that again!  🙂

Discover Challenge: Superpower

4 thoughts on “Discover Challenge: Superpower

  1. idontknowcookbook January 4, 2017 / 5:08 am

    I’m that kind of cook as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

