Daily Prompt: Tempted

It’s been twelve days since I decided to stop using any shampoo at all in my hair, and more than once in that time I’ve seriously considered giving up my crazy quest, throwing in the towel altogether and just washing my hair PROPERLY again! Luxuriously lathered locks, softly scented and squeaky-clean have for now become a thing of my past, a memory, a lure to tempt me away from trying to achieve a more natural relationship with my steadily ageing body.

The thing is, I’ve become really fed up with my 50-something greying hair always looking frizzy and flyaway at the ends yet greasy and grotty at the roots, and I just need to change the way I look after it. It’s ridiculous to me that I’ve habitually been washing (as in shampooing) my hair daily (or thereabouts) for the last 40 years – basically from puberty to peri-menopause – and I feel it’s time to kick that unnecessary habit once and for all, however difficult I may find it to break the cycle.

I’m not really trying to find an alternative shampoo – I know some people use bicarbonate of soda and apple cider vinegar to cleanse their hair, or honey, or sulfate-free soap – but instead of finding a replacement I want not to have to wash my hair so often with anything much at all. I simply want my sebaceous glands to stop over-producing so that in time I end up with a healthy head of hair, naturally moisturised  of its own accord, soft and silky…

So far, so good – and so bad! I’m clearly still very much in the transitional phase, which research leads me to believe lasts on average between five and eight weeks – so basically anything up to two months. My hair on day 12 is (not surprisingly) still quite greasy-looking, but thankfully at last it’s also beginning to feel decidedly less ‘yukky’ to the touch, which feels like a vast improvement on how it felt last week.

Because it’s regularly rinsed through every time I bath or shower, any dirt is removed, but I’m not stripping it of all the natural oils. I’m faithfully following the recommended procedure of dry-massaging my scalp twice a day, methodically pulling the oils gently down through each strand of hair, then brushing well, and however alien that may have felt to begin with, I’m now quite enjoying the feel of it. For the time being, putting it up in a ponytail every day keeps it out of the way easily enough at home, and I always wear a hat when I go out.

I do appreciate that giving up shampoo is necessarily going to be a long-term process, and I believe it will take some time to get to the point where I feel truly comfortable with how my hair looks and feels again, but with a bit of patience and perseverance I’m hopeful I might get there sooner rather than later, without being tempted too often to give in before I get there… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Tempted 

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tempted

    • Ruth January 5, 2017 / 6:08 pm

      No doubt I’ll be reporting back regularly enough, whatever happens 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Holly January 5, 2017 / 5:24 pm

    I went from washing my hair every day, with “regular” shampoo to only washing it twice a week in the winter or three times a week in the summer. When I do wash, it’s with conditioner and then every other week I do one traditional shampoo wash to clear buildup and start over. It has worked well in the few years since I have hair that’s normally very coarse and even better since I now live where there’s hard water.

    The transition at first was the hardest part; I think I was just convinced my hair was dirty when it wasn’t because I missed the lathery part of it all. Now I just try to make up for that in my mind with foamy but very moisturizing body wash every day.

    I’ll be interested to see if you try the alternate methods and how they work for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 5, 2017 / 5:35 pm

      I’ve tried the bicarb wash and vinegar rinse before, but that really wasn’t great for my hair, so I gave it up all too soon. I’m just so tired of all this constant washing, so I’ll see how I get on with using nothing but water for a while… 🙂

      Like

  2. Elaine's Bloggers Paradise January 5, 2017 / 6:36 pm

    I admire you for trying it, I used to wash my hair everyday now it’s every two or three days, sometimes I use dry shampoo … I personally couldn’t do it, can’t wait to hear how you progress 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Margarita January 6, 2017 / 1:12 am

    I applaud your perseverance and tenacity, Ruth. Well done! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sue January 6, 2017 / 4:00 am

    Interesting experiment…and a lot of money saved, I bet.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

