Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Coat

Another boring hair-related post, as much as anything because that’s what’s in (as well as on!) my head just now. It’s now been two whole weeks since I last used shampoo on my hair, and I’m seriously struggling with the ongoing process of giving it up cold turkey. I knew when I first decided to start this experiment of water-only hair washing that it would not be easy to stick with.

I knew it would take an extended period of transition (apparently anything up to two months – eek!) for my scalp to rebalance its natural production of sebum to a manageable level, and that during that transitional period my hair will inevitably look and feel horribly (and excessively) greasy until everything settles down. I also suspected I’d find it emotionally as well as physically difficult to deal with (and I am!) but so far I’ve persevered. Two weeks down, about six more to go… sigh!

It’s never nice living with greasy hair, even temporarily, and especially deliberately. I find it always feels ‘dirty’ even though I know it is technically clean, just over-oily. But it feels even harder to live with when there is absolutely no guarantee that at the end of it all (a) I will eventually succeed, in that my over-active oil-producing scalp will indeed rebalance itself, and (b) I’ll actually like the final effect.

I’ve been reading up on it all so I can keep a realistic perspective on what to expect (forewarned is forearmed!) and it seems that although I can’t wait for my hair to return to normal, I no longer truly know what ‘normal’ means. Even once my hair stops looking so ridiculously greasy, even once this transitional period is over, it seems I’ll still have a coat of protective oil covering each strand, making it feel more like silky fur than what I might recognise to date as hair…

Hmmm… not so sure about that… 😦

Stream of Consciousness Saturday: CoatΒ 

13 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Coat

  1. Relax... January 7, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    I’ve never heard of anyone else trying it, but it might indeed just work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Margarita January 8, 2017 / 1:42 am

    Persevere! What’s two months as a percentage of your life? You can do this, Ruth! πŸ˜‰ xoM

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 8, 2017 / 10:07 am

      Thank you so much for the encouragement – much appreciated! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ellenbest24 January 8, 2017 / 2:13 am

    As a hairdresser in a once longago life I know It will work if you stick to it. Fab response to the coat! P.s. research what to clean it with once you are done… I would once a week in hot weather and fortnightly if cold, give a long warm rinse and cider vinegar massage to finish. ‘Jus sayin’πŸ˜‡

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 8, 2017 / 10:10 am

      Thank you for the advice – I only hope I can see it through, I’m finding it so much harder than I thought…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jamivee January 8, 2017 / 4:22 am

    I just read an article on what happens to your body when you don’t shower for a month…after a while, you develop these microbes that keep your skin soft and get rid of odor. I’ll have to take their word for it, though….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 8, 2017 / 10:19 am

      Hmmm… not sure I’d take it that far, although my skin seems much happier not to be getting shampooed daily, even if my hair is still not so keen on it! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Judy E Martin January 8, 2017 / 1:54 pm

    Well done Ruth. I admire you for continuing with it, even though it is making you feel down at the moment. Keep at it though, you have come this far xx

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

