Daily Prompt: Capable

I’m quite a capable woman in many things, but one thing I’ve never mastered in all of my 53 years is the art of using chopsticks. I’m quite happy to be taught by anyone who wishes to teach me, and so many patient people in the past have showed me how to hold them, how to maneouvre them to pick up food, then move the food from plate to mouth.

But alas, my fingers do not obey. In desperation, my youngest daughter bought me a pair of chopsticks joined together at the top with a spring, like a giant clothes-peg. But still, I cannot use them, still my food refuses to be eaten and falls to earth before ever meeting my mouth.

As a result, I’ll quite happily ask for cutlery when frequenting any oriental-style restaurant – sometimes my fellow diners may accuse me of being a spoil-sport, although those who know me well appreciate how hard I’ve tried over time to master the use of chopsticks, without success, and tend to find my fumbling foodie foible highly amusing!Β  πŸ™‚

Daily Prompt: Capable

 

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Capable

  1. Dan Antion January 14, 2017 / 11:57 am

    I prefer silverware. I’ve managed to feed my face, shirt and lap with chopsticks, but it’s not a pretty sight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Margarita January 14, 2017 / 3:23 pm

    Get the food in your mouth and enjoy it, Ruth. Silverware, chopsticks, fingers…whatever works! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 14, 2017 / 6:31 pm

      Fingers were made before forks, as my mum used to say! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Liesbet January 15, 2017 / 4:17 pm

    I enjoy eating oriental food with chop sticks, since it slows me down, which is good thing! πŸ™‚ That being said, the most tasty way to eat (some foods) is with the fingers. If only it wasn’t frowned upon in Western society!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miriam January 16, 2017 / 12:42 pm

    Ooh, you are very capable Ruth. I’ve never been able to master chopsticks! 😏

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sonnische January 17, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    Great post! Evidently you’re capable of clear, spontaneous blogging, even if you haven’t yet managed chopsticks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 17, 2017 / 6:21 pm

      Thank you! The only version of chopsticks I’ve ever mastered is the one picked out two-fingered on the piano πŸ™‚

      Like

Let me know what you think...

