Hybrid Hair Care: The Best of Both Worlds

After four full weeks of washing my hair with nothing but water, I’ve decided to re-evaluate exactly what I’m trying to achieve, and to re-think where I want to go from here. I feel I’ve become so engrossed in not giving up on my quest at any cost, in not failing in my resolve no matter what, that I’ve lost my way a bit, as if I’m no longer able to see the wood for the trees…

I started this whole experiment on a whim based on feeling increasingly frustrated and fed up wih having poor condition, frizzy flyaway hair with all-too-soon greasy roots I’ve shampooed daily forever. I wanted to try to break that habit so simply stopped using shampoo, just like that, and only afterwards did I properly start to research all those less extreme, perfectly reasonable alternatives out there. In retrospect, perhaps it would have been better not to go cold turkey straight off, but I did what I did, and I am where I am.

Where I am right now is having lived through four dismal weeks of constantly greasy hair, even when newly water-washed. And no matter how thoroughly I’ve scritched and preened and have boar-bristle-brushed between times, the daily grime may be removed as intended but my hair has never looked any less greasy. It’s fair and fine and increasingly greying, so shows everything without mercy – there’s just nowhere to hide with my hair.

In order to look minimally presentable I’ve had no option but to tie my shoulder-length hair up in a ponytail every day, and have worn a hat every time I’ve gone out. I’ve persevered so far in the hope that things would improve enough to motivate me to keep going, but right now it feels all too much to deal with and is seriously getting me down. So I’m looking to change tack and try taking a more hybrid approach to my continuing hair-care.

I’m certainly learning a lot about my hair in its natural state, and that’s a good thing – even the negative stuff is helpful. Leaving its natural oils in place for so long have left it feeling so much softer and silkier than before, but sadly however smooth it feels it still hangs from my head like well-oiled spaghetti. It seems that the singled-out separation of strands that occurs when hair is naturally coated in sebum simply looks absolutely bloody awful on my caucasian-straight dark ash blonde.

But I’m finding I really enjoy the feel of taking a more hands-on approach to my hair, so I’m going to continue with my original aim of washing my hair less frequently and less harshly, but from now on, for now at least, I’ll be giving the water-only washing a miss. Instead I’ve bought myself a sulphate-free, paraben-free conditioning shampoo, so will use that instead of regular shampoo, and come what may will continue trying to stretch out time between shampoos, scritching, preening and brushing regularly between times.

It’s obviously not the perfectly wholesome organic solution I was hoping for all those weeks ago, but realistically I accept I have to live my daily life in the way it best suits me, not chasing some utopian ideal of natural perfection. Still, onwards and upwards, and as the old saying goes, there’s more than one way to swing a cat… 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Hybrid Hair Care: The Best of Both Worlds

  1. Kat January 22, 2017 / 1:43 pm

    I think that sometimes it’s easy to lose our way when we become so focused on something that we forget what our purpose was in the first place. You probably learned what you needed to from this experience and being more mindful of what you are using on your hair might help you to better achieve your goal. 🙂 I know that my hair feels completely different depending on the shampoo and conditioner that I’m using.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kimannwil January 22, 2017 / 2:03 pm

    I have the same problem and must wash my hair everyday. I admire your bravery!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Margarita January 22, 2017 / 5:19 pm

    Yes. Do it your way, Ruth. And don’t be afraid to change your way if need be. 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elaine's Bloggers Paradise January 23, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    This will make you smile, today was the first day i washed and conditioned my hair without thinking about your hair, when i came to dry it , it was taking ages, I had only left the conditioner in it without rinsing it!!! I thought about you then, i had to laugh

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

