Songs from the Past: Week 4 – Mungo Jerry

Hugh from Hugh’s Views and News has really started something for me with his quest to post 51 songs from the past in 51 weeks. It’s such fun! I keep remembering so many old songs from my youth, but when I go back to listen to them again they no longer sound the way I thought. Or rather, they’ve remained exactly the same as they always were, but either I’ve changed too much, or the times have changed, and I’ve somehow just outgrown them.

But there are still plenty of old memories to be re-lived that still hit the spot for me, and this catchy sing-along tune from Mungo Jerry was a definite favourite at the time, and still works for me today, too. Honestly I must have driven everyone nuts singing it so often… so here’s ‘Alright, Alright, Alright’ from 1973, the year I turned 10… 🙂

P.S. One of Mungo Jerry’s songs has been used more recently (1992 – ok, so maybe not that recently!) in a UK anti-drink-driving ad, featuring ‘In the Summertime’ (from 1970) in an ironic ‘how not to’ kind of way… the hard-hitting ad was very successful, but sadly it really spoiled the intended feel-good factor of the original track for many…

And here’s the ad, if you’ve never seen it…

 

8 thoughts on “Songs from the Past: Week 4 – Mungo Jerry

  1. Dan Antion January 24, 2017 / 7:08 pm

    I was going to include “In the Summertime” in a presentation I did recently, the “drink/drive” line made me a little nervous , but the “if her daddy’s rich…if her daddy’s poor…” segment caused me to abandon the idea. I remember singing along to the lyrics when it was popular, but I guess we didn’t think much about the possible inerpretations.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 24, 2017 / 7:16 pm

      I think the 1970s were simply a whole world away from where we are now – so much was simply accepted as normal at the time, so it does make it difficult at times to square it all with what we understand as acceptable now…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ghostmmnc January 26, 2017 / 12:10 am

    I remember hearing “In the Summertime” a lot back in the day. Always liked it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Judy E Martin January 26, 2017 / 7:24 pm

    I love ‘In the Summertime.’ and agree that the drink drive campaign put a bit of a downer on it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hugh's Views and News January 27, 2017 / 12:25 pm

    I don’t remember the drink/drive advert, but I do remember they used the music for ‘In The Summertime’ in a commercial for HP Sauce.

    Glad you’re enjoying the feature so much, Ruth. It’s certainly bringing back lots of hidden memories for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

