Weekly Photo Challenge: Repurpose

film-slide-mobile

This fun ceiling mobile of colourfully-framed film slides hanging above the camera department in John Lewis on Oxford Street certainly caught my eye. As few people even use camera film any more, and probably even less people still develop their images as transparencies, I was quite surprised to see so many modern variations of old-fashioned slides ‘repurposed’ as artistic decoration in a store, but they certainly brought back fond memories…

My grandfather was a keen photographer and had many multiples of little boxes (Kodak, yellow box with transparent plastic lid) of white-framed slides we used to view either through a small individual hand-held light-box, or projected onto the wall as a family via a rather cumbersome slide-projector. Slides were basically individual frames of transparent developed film – like a negative, except a positive image – and were quite popular when I was young!

Weekly Photo Challenge: Repurpose

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Repurpose

  1. Dawn January 27, 2017 / 11:20 pm

    I have boxes of slides too. Took lots of them when I was growing up. I wonder if they’re even still viable. I should go look, but I’m sort of afraid to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth January 29, 2017 / 9:32 pm

      Very eye-catching, it captures your attention and it looks great!

      Like

  2. stevetanham February 14, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    I still have a box of early kids photos on a set of Kodachrome slides.. imagine how wonderful they would look as a lantern with a central projector! I must look into that. Thank you, Ruth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 14, 2017 / 6:40 pm

      I’m imagining a sort-of revolving disco ball made of slides, that would be quite beautiful as the images slowly twirled around the light:-)

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

