Thursday Doors: Criterion Restaurant

criterion-1

While passing through Piccadilly Circus the other day I was quite disappointed to find the heavy old wooden-glazed central revolving door I remembered as being on the Grade II listed Criterion Restaurant has been updated to a modern flat glass version more in keeping with the current owner’s preferences.

Thankfully, the beautiful door canopy I remember is still in place, as is its identical twin on the next door theatre of the same name, so I took a couple of images while I could before that disappears too! πŸ™‚

criterion-2

Norm’s Thursday Doors

6 thoughts on “Thursday Doors: Criterion Restaurant

  1. Norm 2.0 February 2, 2017 / 7:30 pm

    This one is nice but it’s a shame the original door was taken out. For some reason they always fascinated me as a child and even today whenever I come across a revolving door it takes me back to when I was 9 or 10. They’re just so much fun πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 2, 2017 / 7:32 pm

      I always have to go fully round at least once before actually entering or leaving! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jesh stg February 2, 2017 / 10:32 pm

    Wonder if they replaced the revolving door, because the extra cold coming in? But my goodness they are located right in front of the subway/underground! Excellent for business:)

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

