Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Hair

me2017

Linda’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt word for this week is ‘hair’ – perfect timing for me to update you all on my ongoing quest to give up my daily shampoo. For the last few years my hair has not been happy, as the number of grey hairs has increased it’s seemed to become infinitely more wiry in texture and unruly in nature, and a lifetime of daily shampooing has left it dry and frizzy at the ends but always all-too-quickly greasy at the roots.

Six weeks ago I decided just to stop using shampoo completely and wash my hair with water only, following instead a very hands-on routine of scritching, preening and brushing regularly to distribute the natural oils and remove any dirt. I persevered for four weeks, but seriously struggled living with constantly lank spaghetti strands even immeditely after water-washing, so decided instead to try a less extreme approach by using only a sulphate and paraben-free shampoo, and simply stretching out the days between washes.

So here I am, two weeks on from that time, washing my hair every three days now with my new shampoo, and I have to say I’m absolutely delighted with the results. My hair is much softer and shinier all over, far less frizzy at the ends and far less greasy at the roots. Not surprisingly it looks at its best on the day I wash it (see above pic), but still looks fine on the following day too. It’s only on the third day it starts to look a bit on the limp side, but I simply tie it up out of the way and all is well.

I’m planning to continue using my new shampoo, and will try to increase the days between washing my hair, slowly but surely. So although it’s been a bit of a rough ride, especially those difficult first four weeks, I suppose I’ve actually achieved what I set out to do in the first place, so for now it’s smiles all round, as you can see… 🙂

Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Hair

9 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Hair

  1. Sonnische February 5, 2017 / 2:50 pm

    Lovely! What are you using? I have some colorful highlights in my grey hair which means not overwashing. Twice a week, max, one lather only. My hairdresser told me to go to a beauty supply place called Sally’s and the girl there talked me into a generic colorfast product supposedly identical to Matrix colorfast. So far so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 5, 2017 / 7:33 pm

      Palmers Coconut Oil Conditioning Shampoo – smells lovely, feels great! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 5, 2017 / 7:30 pm

      Thanks Joanne – just delighted at having properly clean-feeling hair again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

