Daily Prompt: Expectation

When I first started blogging on WordPress three years ago, I’m not at all sure quite where my expectations lay. I had absolutely no idea what I was doing, but I persevered for five or six months in my initial guise before finding myself feeling hampered by my self-imposed rather narrow remit.

So I decided to try again with a different blog, starting anew with a slightly broader outlook towards my intended content. All went well with my second blog for a whole year and a bit, until some of the difficulties of real life intruded inevitably on the virtual and suddenly I stopped posting, and stopped reading others’ posts, just like that…

Then after a full seven month gap away from WordPress and all things bloggy, I started to wonder what all my old blog friends and aquaintances were up to, and I realised that I actually missed it all very much. But instead of going back and picking up where I’d left off, I started all over again once more – new blog, new name, new relaxed attitude, and ten months on I’m still here, still happily blogging along in my own little piece of the blogosphere.

When WordPress sent me my three-year anniversary notification last week, I was absolutely delighted. I realised I’ve come such a long way since those early days of blind trial-and-error. My blogging expectations are so much clearer nowadays – this is simply my much-cherished personal creative space, and I really enjoy the daily interaction with other bloggers across the globe.

Some people have steadfastly stayed the course, resolute from day one. Others come and go, just like I’ve done, withdrawing for a while before returning at a later date, reinvigourated and raring to go once more. Some post once a month or so, some weekly, some daily and some several times a day. Some blogs (and posts) are more serious in content, some are for fun, some beautifully wordy and some infinitely more visual.

I love dipping in and out of all of them regardless, and truly miss people when they disappear without warning, worrying that something bad may have befallen them but hoping above hope that all is well with them. I certainly intend to continue blogging on into the future. I can’t promise I won’t ever take a break again at any point, but I can promise I’ll let you know if and when I do… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Expectation

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Expectation

Let me know what you think...

