Daily Prompt: Blur

Final Bow…

As menopause takes one last curtain call

Dramatic hormones exit from stage left

Such bittersweet regret holds me in thrall

Old hopes of ‘one more baby’ quite bereft

Fertility has lost its early glow

No longer bathed in lime-light, cast aside

Youth’s pregnant pauses ended long ago –

No more life’s leading-lady, ripe with pride

Theatrical hysterics fought this change

Of back-stage blur replacing spot-light fame

But though my aging body now feels strange

A peaceful calm flows deeply through each vein

And reproductive life, with final bow

Makes way for brand new role, beginning now…

Daily Prompt: Blur

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Blur

  1. Suzanne February 19, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    I can remember those feelings though they are a few years ago now. The anthropologist Margaret Mead wrote about post menopausal glow. I feel it sometimes though it is elusive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sonnische February 20, 2017 / 3:38 am

    Hatba bequtiful sonnet! And poignant homage to this next chapter of your life. Gail Sheehy’s book on menopause, The Silent Passage, extols this phase of a woman’s life as one of empowerment, freedom and renewal. Now 65 with the hot flashes and regrets behind me, I do believe she was right!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 20, 2017 / 8:34 am

      Empowerment, freedom and renewal are just what I need, that’s perfect! 🙂

      Like

  3. Elaine's Bloggers Paradise February 20, 2017 / 5:27 am

    Lovely words Ruth. I chose to be sterilised at 29 knowing I would never want more children besides the two girls I have. So the thought of not being able to reproduce again never entered my head. So far 💁I think this final phase of my life is empowering and very enjoyable. I believe everything that nature takes from us is replaced with something better 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Judy E Martin February 20, 2017 / 8:04 am

    I am still oing through it, and I often think of ‘just one more baby’! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 20, 2017 / 8:32 am

      I find it’s neither a logical nor a realistically practical desire, the ‘just one more baby’ thing; instead it’s more a stance of innate emotional resistance, a defiant railing against the finality of not being able to conceive any longer due to nature taking its course… Me choosing years ago not to have any more babies was one thing, but once it was no longer my choice, for some reason the utter finality of menopause bothered me far more than I’d thought it would… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Judy E Martin February 20, 2017 / 8:35 am

        Yes I understand that Ruth and it is funny how things change when choice is no longer an option.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

