One Word Photo Challenge: Escape

surrey-docks

I photographed this old heavy chain on the edge of what used to be the old Surrey Dock in East London’s regenerated docklands.

The original deep dock itself is now partially filled in, and the much shallower water provides the perfect home to various ducks and other waterfowl – just look at these lovely duck houses sheltered by the reed-beds!

But thanks to the small section of chain deliberately left in situ on the dockside of the renamed Surrey Quays, and other similar reminders dotted around, there’s no escaping the area’s hard-working history πŸ™‚

ducks-surrey-quays

One Word Photo Challenge: Escape

3 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge: Escape

  1. I always look forward to seeing your photos as they bring something back to me of the old East End I grew up in. I would take many walks around the old docks as a 12 year old in the evening, and then they were docks. I knew them all and their names. Now it is a shicky mickey environment, only for the better situated. Two of my uncles were dockers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ordinary London (rather than the big tourist attractions) seems to be perpetually changing, but every now and then I find a tiny little bit of the past still intact – not very often, though… πŸ™‚

      Like

Let me know what you think...

