Stream of Consciousness Saturday: How

How wonderfully dreamy reflections can look in images… I really like to take a picture of something as a reflection, usually in water, then rotate the image by 180 degrees so it is effectively upside down. These two rotated reflected images of bridges over water were taken this afternoon along the River Lea in East London while I was out for a walk with my camera…

refletcted-bridge-1refletcted-bridge-2I really love the slightly warped, distorted effect of each reflection being presented as if it were the real element; each draws me down into its depths, somehow?

It seems to mirror my own fragile feelings in life, where so often I feel as if I am little more than a distorted reflection of how someone else sees me, as if all it would take is for that someone to stir things up a bit and instantly I (or at least their warped vision of me) would disappear, just like any other optical illusion, as if there were nothing more to me than there is to a basic shallow surface reflection…

Oh, I would so dearly love to change that fragile feeling inside myself, if only I knew how…

Stream of Consciousness Saturday: How

11 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday: How

  1. JoAnna February 24, 2017 / 9:37 pm

    Interesting and beautiful images. How, is the key question. When I’ve felt my most fragile, it helped to clarify (in writing of course) my strengths, beliefs, boundaries, and the constants in my life that have always been good for me. Perhaps like a rock, tree, or buoy sticking out of the water.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth February 24, 2017 / 10:02 pm

      Boundaries – or lack thereof – have always been a bit of a problem for me… I definitely need to work on that one! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thinkinkadia February 27, 2017 / 8:51 pm

    Pretty: I like the way you see it! The bridge’s reflection: Connecting it to your self-image to the perception of how another might see you … The disappearance of the reflection as a calmed ripple in the water.
    Could it be a strength? As in you are capable of calming down quickly if someone stirred you up?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 27, 2017 / 9:48 pm

      Good question! I may appear calm on the surface, but underneath I’m generally bubbling away like a volcano ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. autistsix March 7, 2017 / 2:04 pm

    How beautiful. I have never thought of or heard of this before, the images were superb, bewitching.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

