Share Your World: Feb 27, 2017

Ever ran out of gas in your vehicle?

Not personally, but I was once being driven to the airport when the car we were in ran out of petrol – luckily someone kindly stopped and offered us a lift, and we caught our flight on time, even of it was by the skin of our teeth!

Which are better, black or green olives?

Hmmm… Black olives are a little bit softer and sweeter in the flesh, I think, but I also love the slightly sharper crunch of green olives, especially stuffed with garlic and pimentoes – but I have to make sure my husband eats some too, so I don’t have garlic breath all on my own πŸ™‚

If you were a great explorer, what would you explore?

History – I’d probably like to go back in time and explore the past for myself, instead of having to try to read between the lines of everyone else’s propoganda-led agenda, trying my best to interpret fact from fiction. I suppose human beings have always chosen to tell their own somewhat skewed version of the ‘truth’ at any given time – the only difference nowadays is that because everyone potentially has a voice these days (rather than just the church and the elite being literate) we can pretty much catch them out and question their account.

Well, unless they are the President of the United States, of course, in which case they can tell whatever ludicrous lies they like, call everything else they don’t like (however much truth there may be behind it) ‘fake news’ and make a big show of closing their freedom-of-speech doors to anyone who isn’t prepared to report ‘on message’…

Quotes list – at least three of your favourite quotes?

‘And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom’ – Anais Nin

‘If you’re going through hell, keep going’- Winston Churchill

‘This above all – to thine own self be true’ – William Shakespeare, Hamlet Act I, Scene III

Cee’s Share Your World

 

7 thoughts on “Share Your World: Feb 27, 2017

  1. frankhubeny February 27, 2017 / 10:30 pm

    That Churchill quote was perfect. As I read it: if you’re going through hell don’t stop to enjoy the scenery, keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 27, 2017 / 10:39 pm

      It really helps me through my depressive episodes – in the middle of it all I just remind myself to keep my head focused and keep on moving forward, because the crippling darkness will eventually pass… and it always does… until the next time… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth February 28, 2017 / 10:48 am

      I’m still not so good at following through with that one, but I do keep trying! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Margarita February 28, 2017 / 1:05 pm

        Being true to one’s self starts with small things, Ruth. I decided I could get to an education fair I’ve committed to attend for work a little later than planned. I feel I’m fighting off a cold and taking care of me must come first. πŸ˜‰ xoM

        Liked by 1 person

  2. magickmermaid February 28, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    Great quotes! I have found the Churchill quote quite useful many times πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

