Daily Prompt: Hesitate

I’m getting so much better in general at seizing the moment photographically-speaking, but all too often I still have a tendency to hesitate, to linger a little too long in my indecision when it comes to photographing people in the most dynamic of street shots.

Should I, shouldn’t I take my camera out, right here, right now?  Will it look too obvious, will I be in the way, will people wonder what I’m doing, will they object if they see me? All too often I decide against it and walk on by, or leave it too late and miss the moment, or worse – through my obvious discomfort and hesitation end up drawing attention to myself and losing the candid nature of the shot.

I do so love looking at other people’s images of street photography, and I often find myself in situations where I can see the perfect people-shot developing right in front of me, but I just don’t always have the confidence to go with the photographic flow and follow it through smoothly and discreetly.

I do try to practice by taking ‘ordinary’ street shots on a regular basis, just to get used to the feeling, but these images tend to look bland and boring because ultimately nothing much is happening in them. Yet when it matters most, when I could potentially capture something  worth capturing, I fumble, or freeze, and find myself failing dismally… 😦

Daily Prompt: Hesitate

 

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Hesitate

  1. Relax... March 1, 2017 / 3:09 pm

    Being nice is never a fail. 🙂 I hate being photographed by anyone, but actually posing for shots has only rarely worked out better than the candid shots — but I think most people out in public don’t mind either way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth March 1, 2017 / 5:34 pm

      I think I probably need to practice, practice, practice, until I get a better feel for it all 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Margarita March 1, 2017 / 3:57 pm

    I don’t like to photograph people, Ruth. However, if one of them happens across my lens, I don’t stop. I whip my camera out of my pocket whenever something catches my eye and click away. The beauty of digital photography is the instant gratification and the ability to indulge my whims without the cost of film development. It allows me the luxury of spontaneity. Go ahead. Have some fun! 😉 xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Otto von Münchow March 1, 2017 / 6:14 pm

    I think anyone having done street photography knows exactly what you are talking about. Practice helps but there will always be days where you don’t want to engage with people on the street. Just keep doing your best. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth March 1, 2017 / 6:22 pm

      Thank you Otto 🙂

      Like

Let me know what you think...

