Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Project

I’m not the kind of person who always has some kind of project going on in the background of life. Or rather, perhaps I’m just not the kind of person who thinks in terms of projects? Sometimes I do lots of different things all at once, like a manic juggler, and other times I’ll do nothing beyond surviving from day to day. Projects in my head sound like stuff I have to do – rational work, not emotional play – and I prefer to do background things for fun in a far more ad hoc manner, as and when the mood takes me.

I suppose my blog might be considered a project of sorts – but that’s not necessarily how I think of it – to me it’s more of an ongoing hobby than a project. As is my interest in photography – creative, curious, decidedly open-ended, with no final destination in mind. A project to me is something a lot more specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-bound – oh wait, that’s goal-setting, not projects. But that’s how I think of it, anyway… projects to me mean work, not fun!

Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Project

7 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Project

  1. There’s something in a name so I guess when we call it a project it takes away the fun part of things. I always have many things going on at once sometimes I question my sanity 🙂

    I am hosting a blog party and would like to invite you. Here’s the link
    https://acookingpotandtwistedtales.com/2017/03/04/its-a-spring-party-lets-groove-%f0%9f%8e%b6%f0%9f%8c%bb%f0%9f%8c%b7%e2%9a%98%f0%9f%8c%ba%f0%9f%8d%89%f0%9f%8d%94%f0%9f%8d%97%f0%9f%8d%bf%f0%9f%8d%a6%f0%9f%8d%bb%f0%9f%92%83/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am way to old for projects – starting a project feels something like buying green bananas. Besides, projects have too much potential to intrude on my quiet reflection time.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

