The Slouch on the Couch

Some days I don’t feel like doing much, and all I want to do is slouch on the couch – basically have a lazy day just being decadent and gloriously self-indulgent in the comfort of my own home, without having to feel guilty and secretive about it…

Sadly, living in a culture and society that seems to value constant busy-ness (or at least the surface impression of it) above all else, it often feels incumbent upon me either to try to justify or to hide my desire for absolute idleness when it strikes, as if my deliberate (albeit temporary) lack of productivity is simply too much of a traditional taboo to break, and the ever-present threat of being labelled a good-for-nothing wastrel too shameful to contemplate.

But I’ve worked hard throughout my life, struggled through depression and divorce and gaining a degree as a mature student, not to mention being a mum since just before my nineteenth birthday. I’ve done the sleepless nights and the single-parenthood and juggled home/ work responsibilities for years, and now in my fifties I don’t see what’s wrong with wanting a bit of a break from the business of busy-ness now and again, now I find I’ve got the opportunity.

Some days I love rushing around like a whirlwind getting lots done, as if I’m on a constant high, relishing the buzz of a conveyor-belt pace of achievement as I tick items off my to-do list one by one – tick, tick, tick. But there are also times when I simply need time to myself just to be. Sometimes that time is spent outside walking in nature, sometimes taking photographs, sometimes enjoying a quiet coffee alone in a cafe somewhere, watching the world go by.

And sometimes, whether the rest of the world approves or not, time to be me means just slouching on the sofa in comfy clothes doing nothing much of any consequence other than ruminating over nothing in particular, just like today… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Ruminate

9 thoughts on “The Slouch on the Couch

    • Ruth March 7, 2017 / 3:24 pm

      Funnily enough, once I’d posted my post the guilt of doing absolutely nothing kicked in, so I dropped off a donation to our local charity shop (from yesterday’s Spring-clean clear-out), went for a walk, picked up a few bits and pieces from the supermarket, and now I’m back slouching on the couch, feeling a little bit more like I’ve earned it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kat March 7, 2017 / 2:20 pm

    I love quiet days like that. I agree completely with you though and there is this idea that you must be busy all the time (and I shouted out a YES at the part of “the surface impression of” because quite honestly the “busiest” people I know don’t appear to be doing anything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth March 7, 2017 / 3:27 pm

      Ha ha ha – oh yes, I certanly know a few people who have turned appearing to be busy while doing the barest minimum into an art form! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy E Martin March 7, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    Sometimes when I get a day off I slouch around all day in my pyjamas not doing much! My life has been very similar to yours Ruth, having worked since I was 14 doing part-time jobs until I was 16 then it was full time.
    I think we are entitled to be a bit un-busy when we want to! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rose Tinted Ramblings March 7, 2017 / 9:22 pm

    good for you. me too. i’ve learnedrecently (and i’m almost 50) that i need to listen to my inner voice and if it says stop / rest /sleep / luxuriate in a bath/ spend the day in your pjs or whatever, i do my damnedest to comply

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Margarita March 7, 2017 / 10:36 pm

    The way I see it, Ruth, rumination is when we tend the garden of our creativity. 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

