Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Short

I decided yesterday that, as I’m coming up to my first anniversary on Image & Word (on 1st April – woo-hoo!), I’d maybe look for a different theme that may help express the remit of my blog a little better. Something that helps highlight my photography and poetry and random rants and ramblings, something bright and clear to look at and easy to navigate… should be easy enough to find, right? Wrong!

Being a cheapskate means I need to find a free theme to choose, which inevitably reduces my options, but I suppose that’s fair enough – after all beggars can’t be choosers. So I tried on pretty much every free theme available, to the extent that I spent pretty much the whole evening in the WordPress dashboard dressing room, exploring available colour schemes and layouts and fonts – and yet here I am today, wearing exactly the same blog theme I was wearing before… sigh!

With some, I liked the layout but couldn’t live with the colour schemes. With others, the colours and fonts were perfect, but something niggly about the layout or navigation bothered me. Somehow everything I tried fell short of what I already have – so here I am, wondering if I should perhaps just try out a new theme every day or so for the next while, to see if any of the ‘falling short of perfect’ themes might actually start to grow on me in the meantime?

So I’m telling myself ‘Go on, push the boat out, live a little – be brave, bite the bullet and try something new’ because I worry about becoming too set in my ways, too fixed in my viewpoint as I get older – and changing my blog theme, whether temporarily or permanantly, is hardly going to change the world, is it? And if I really don’t like the look and feel of anything else however many others I try out for size, I suppose after a while I can always change it back again… πŸ™‚

Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Short

16 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Saturday: Short

  1. I use the free themes too and I have found that with a little creativity, I can make one work. I have spent days trying out themes, only to come back to same handful. I know that changing your theme is supposed to be an easy process but it isn’t if you are going for a certain look. (And for me, I never know what look I’m going for, just that I’ll know it when I see it!) Good luck on your search! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the notion: “spent pretty much the whole evening in the WordPress dashboard dressing room”

    That’s exactly what it feels like. The process isn’t any better with premium themes. In addition to the things you mention, themes can affect the way quotes and images and widgets appear. It’s why mind hasn’t changed in years.

    Liked by 2 people

    • This one is Nucleare, customised in an alternative blue/grey colourway – then I uploaded my own header images (set on random) and tweaked the widgets to suit – glad you like it! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I changed my site daily with the free themes, then changed the colours and the fonts because I wanted to have a site that looked different. In the end I paid out Β£52 for a theme, but I’ve got it forever and it gives me different choice on how to use it. Also because I paid for it there’s no way I’m going to dump it now πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve tried out a few new free ones, and end up back with my original each time. I’ve thought about paying for a “better” one, but will it really be better? Half the time, I’m totally winging it on here, and feel lucky to even be able to produce a site at all….so I guess I’m just settling for that.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

