Daily Prompt: Denial

Hmmm… I was planning to write a list: Things I am in Denial About.

But almost immediately I hit a snag – if I already know something is an issue for me, then I’m not really in denial about it, am I? I may be deliberately ignoring it, refusing to deal with it, actively going out of my way to avoid it – but denial? Doesn’t the act of acknowledgement kind of refute the denial part?

I mean, I know I have an emotional eating problem – I’ve had it for years. When I’m stressed and/ or upset, I tend to comfort myself by overeating. I’ve tried lots of different approaches to dealing with it over my lifetime, but here I am at 53, still with an emotional eating problem. Unfortunately, simply knowing it doesn’t always fix it.

I learned a long time ago to swallow my disappointments in life, and habitually I swallow them down with a little sweetener along the way – my reward for being a good girl, for keeping quiet, for not rocking the boat, for being ‘nice’, and sadly I still find that old habits die hard…

Daily Prompt: Denial

 

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Denial

  1. The Photonomad April 6, 2017 / 7:01 pm

    I stopped smoking years ago. Every week I would reward myself for not smoking – usually a CD. I found that, when times are difficult (and stopping smoking can be difficult), then it is good to work towards a reward. Sometimes the reward can be as simple as a nice cup of tea, at other times, it can be watching a film and……probably the best reward of all – staying in bed for an extra couple of hours in the morning…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Secrets to Slim June 8, 2017 / 2:14 pm

    It’s so nice to see people actually making the connections between their hunger and the emotions that trigger it! I’m a former emotional eater. I’m very proud to say that. Feels like another lifetime, like another version of me when I couldn’t trust myself around food. It was a long journey but definitely possible. Do you tend to feel guilty when you emotionally eat or do you allow yourself to feel satisfied with the food you just ate?

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

