Stream of Consciousness: Give, Given, Giving

Given my current stress levels – we’re in the process of selling our flat here in London in the South of England, with the intention of relocating lock, stock and barrel to Inverness in the North of Scotland – it’s a wonder I’m not imploding with the enormity of it all.

I know some people move up and down and all around the country all the time without giving it a second’s thought, but I’m definitely a home bird and I like to keep my daily habits and routines (not to mention my immediate environment) intact as far as possible, so this feels like a big emotional upheaval for me to be caught up in the middle of.

There’s been a lot going on for us for a while now, long-standing work issues and ongoing health issues and financial considerations and a very frustrating legal process dragging on in the background forever and a day, each on their own more than enough to be dealing with long-term, but cumulatively almost too much to bear. Almost, but not quite: I have to give us some credit for sticking to our guns, because we’re not giving up on sorting out any of it.

In spite of it all of it all – perhaps because of it all – we’re choosing to move to the other end of the country, so right now we’re just focusing on the future and looking forward to settling in to our new life, in our new home, wherever in Inverness that home may turn out to be… πŸ™‚

Stream of Consciousness: Give, Given, Giving

 

9 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness: Give, Given, Giving

  1. Roseelaineblog April 8, 2017 / 12:55 pm

    It will all be worth it when you stand breathing in the good clean air in Scotland. Try to accept everything that’s happening because it’s when you resist things they seem more difficult ( I hope that makes sense) 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth April 8, 2017 / 1:28 pm

      I’m trying to just go with the flow… and remember to breathe deeply every now and again! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jami Carder April 8, 2017 / 1:18 pm

    I’m pretty sure research has shown that moving is in the top five category for life stressors

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth April 8, 2017 / 1:27 pm

      I can see why! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Margarita April 8, 2017 / 9:51 pm

    It’s a big adventure, Ruth. All of it. One breath, one moment, one step at a time! πŸ˜‰ xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Judy E Martin April 9, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    I hope it all works out for you quickkly Ruth so you can start your new life πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LindaGHill April 14, 2017 / 7:31 pm

    I’d be willing to guess that moving is stressful for most people. I know it was for me. Hang in there, Ruth, and the best of luck to you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

